Billerica Driving School



741 A South Main Street
Haverhill, Massachusetts 01835

Driving Instruction


Click HERE to register online
  Click below to download a Registration Form  
  MS Word Format  
  Adobe PDF Format  



Download Driver's Manual


Viewing documents marked as PDF requires the free Adobe® Acrobat® Reader..




EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2013 - Parents MUST attend a Parent Class PRIOR to scheduling a Student’s Driving Lessons.

    Welcome to MV Auto School. Our current Driver’s Education Package available at this time which is dictated by the recent law changes in Massachusetts will consist of: thirty (30) hours of classroom training; twelve (12) hours of behind-the-wheel training, six (6) hours of observation time, and a two (2) Hour Parent Class. This program is mandatory for any Massachusetts person under the age of 18 who wishes to obtain a Driver’s License.

    Effective October 1 2017, the total cost for this course is $650.00, payable in two installments. Special discount programs may be available. Please inquire at our office. A non-refundable deposit of $325 is due upon registering for the class. It will be applied to the total cost of the course on the first night of class. The second installment of the balance of the tuition is payable prior to the end of the class and before the first Driving Lesson. If Driving Lessons have been scheduled and there is still an open balance of tuition, the final lesson(s) may be cancelled until payment is resolved. The cost for additional driving lessons is $40.00 per lesson.

    New classes are held every month. Please check the web site for our current Schedule of Classes. We have three basic class programs available, which include, but not limited to:

        Evening classes which run on Monday, Tuesdays, and Wednesdays from 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM. These classes run for three weeks and one day. 

        Accelerated ONE-WEEK classes which run Monday through Fridays from 8:30 AM - 3:00 PM. These classes run for just one week usually during School Vacations and during the Summer. Please check the website for details.

    A student is not allowed to miss any classes unless it is an emergency. If a class is missed, then that particular class will have to be made up when the next session begins. The Driver’s Education course must be completed within two (2) years of the date of the first class according to the Registry of Motor Vehicles. (NO EXCEPTIONS)

All students must bring the following with them to each class: A pen or pencil, notebook, and the RMV Drivers Manual which they can get at the reception desk of the Registry. We do have several Manuals on hand in the office as well for use in the class.

    Any student who is habitually late will not be allowed to continue in the course, as it is disruptive to the others who are on time. If you cannot make it to class on time, please sign up for a class that better fits your schedule. Any student who is consistently disruptive or disrespectful to any employee of the Auto School will be asked to leave the class and course without a refund.


EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2013 - Parents MUST attend a Parent Class PRIOR to scheduling a Student’s Driving Lessons.

Driving time will not be scheduled until after the completion of the classroom portion. NO APPOINTMENTS WILL BE SCHEDULED FOR STUDENTS WHO HAVE NOT PAID IN FULL. As required by law, students must also complete forty (40) hours of behind-the-wheel driving with a parent. The student must hold a permit for a full six (6) months (183 days) before he/she is eligible for a license. We try to spread these lessons out over the last three (3) months that they hold their permit so that their lessons are close to their license appointment. Therefore, driving lessons are scheduled as follows: Two lessons will be booked after the completion of the classroom portion and after at least two (2) months have passed since the student received his/her permit. If the student exhibits that he/she is getting practice at home and is a safe driver, then the balance of the lessons may be scheduled.

    Students may be picked up at home or at school if they are residents of Haverhill. Out of town students will have to be brought to and picked up at the Auto School , or one of the local High Schools unless prior arrangements are made ahead of time. If a student is scheduled for a driving lesson, they must be prepared. They must have their permit with them and it must be in good condition. All pertinent information must be legible and all restrictions must be adhered to. (i.e. corrective lenses if required) A twenty-four (24) hour notice is needed to cancel a lesson. (prior to 2PM on Friday for any weekend appointments). There will be an additional Forty Dollars ($40.00) fee [Sixty Dollars ($60.00) fee for a scheduled two (2) hours of Driving only] charged to the student if the student does not meet all of the above requirements, misses an appointment, or is a no-show.


    The Driver’s Education Certificate is issued after the classroom, driving hours, and Parent Class are successfully completed. The cost of the Driver’s Education Certificate is NOT included in the tuition package price. A $15.00 additional fee payable directly to the RMV will be required after the Classroom and On-Road Portion has been completed.

    In order to take the RMV License road test, the student must have access to a vehicle with an emergency hand brake located between the two front seats. Most SUVs, Pickup Trucks, and Minivans may not be allowed by the registry. If an Auto School student wishes to have the Auto School sponsor him/her for his/her license appointment, there is a Nighty Dollar ($90.00) fee for the use of our vehicle and instructor. This is an additional fee, separate from the tuition and separate from the Registry’s fee for the actual license and road test. We must book your license test if you are going with us. You may register with the Auto School for the license road test after you have successfully completed the Entire Program and your DE Certificate is issued. Simply bring in the completed RMV license application into our office along with your Ninety Dollars ($90.00) fee and we will book your appointment for you.

Again there are two License Test Sponsor options available:

    RMV Option: This option includes additional driving prior to the license road test, the use of our vehicle, and our instructor as the student’s sponsor. We can pick up the student from School or home prior to the test, and return them back to School or Home after the test is completed.

    Saturday Morning Option: This option is done directly at the Auto School, at the RMV, or a selected nearby location on a Saturday (or Sunday) morning. Only Auto Schools can schedule on a Saturday. The test is done right in the neighborhoods around the school or other location. The student must be brought to the school for the test and picked up upon completion. Call for more information. We are also required to have a minimum number of students.

Remember that your child cannot drive with any friends in the vehicle for the first six (6) months that they are licensed unless there is an adult over the age of 21 who has been licensed for more than one year in the front passenger seat of the vehicle. This is part of the current Junior Operator Law of the Registry of Motor Vehicles.

PARENT CLASS:  EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2013 - Parents MUST attend a Parent Class PRIOR to scheduling a Student’s Driving Lessons.

A new law passed by the Massachusetts RMV in 2007 requires that parents attend an informational two (2) hour class in order for the student to receive the Driver’s Education Certificate. This is a mandatory requirement. This class explains to the parents the current requirements for students under the age of eighteen (18), the Junior Operator Laws, and the fines and penalties associated with violating those laws among other things. If a student under the age of 18, then a Parent must attend one of these informational classes. These classes are usually held on Saturdays once a month and special classes may be arranged periodically to accommodate difficult schedules. Parents will be notified, through information sent home with the students, of when these classes are being held and invited to attend. Only one parent need attend. A parent need only attend once per each five (5) years. Therefore, if a family has subsequent children attending Driver’s Education within a five (5) year period of attending a Parent Class then attendance may not be required again. If a Parent has previously attended a Parent Class at another Auto School, then a Parent Class Certificate from the other Auto School is Required. You are more than welcome to attend again if you wish.


• Individual Driving Instruction only: $60.00 per lesson.
• 12 Hours Behind the Wheel Training: $500.00.
• 6 Hours Behind the Wheel Training: $300.00.
• Extra 1 Hour Lesson for Students: $40.00
• ½ Hour License Test Refresher Lesson prior to License Test: $25.00
• 30 Hour Classroom Instruction only: $300.00.
• 2 Hour Parent Class: $50.00.
• $120.00 for Individuals who wish to have the Auto School sponsor them for their RMV License Test who have not been students of ours. These individuals may need to take a minimum of (2) two on-road lessons with the Auto School prior to the License appointment. You may choose one of the aforementioned License Test Options.
• Special Letters to the Massachusetts RMV: $25.00
• Special Letters to another school, auto school, or other state RMV: $25.00
• Special arrangements may be made for combinations of above items.
• Special offers may be applicable only on Complete Tuition Package.
• Prices Subject to Change without notice.

Website by Contemporary Web Solutions, Inc. © 2014